MY AOS INPUT – A TINY BIT OF HELP

I have seen a lot of guides for fixing the papers to adjust status here in the US. This is my experience, and I hope it can help, even just a tiny little bit.🙂

Green-card-holder

I am going to make my own guide, under the impression that the person reading this entered the US under a K1 (fiance) visa, like I did. I don’t know what the process is for other kinds of visa to adjustment of status.

Here are some of the abbreviations I will use in this guide:

AOS == Adjustment of Status (This is basically the green card)

EAD == Employment Authorization Document (The document name says it all)

AP   == Advance Parole (This allows you to travel outside the United States)

RFE == Request for Evidence

Here goes!

First off, get ready to pay $1,070.00 to the USCIS. (Effin’ expensive, I know)

You are actually paying for the AOS, and the EAD and AP are optional. The price won’t change if you do or don’t apply for those.

Your check should be paid to the order of: Department of Homeland Security

Here are the documents for AOS (Adjustment of Status):

  • payment
  • cover letter (OPTIONAL)
  • Form G-1145 E-Notification (To notify you when the petition is received, approved etc. OPTIONAL) G-1145
  • Form I-485 Application to Register Permanent Residence (This is the Adjustment of Status form) FORM I-485
  • Copy of birth certificate
  • copy of passport biographical page
  • K1 visa page with entry stamp
  • 2 passport photos with name and alien number printed lightly on back
  • Medical vaccination form 3025 (This was given to you when you had your medical for the K1 visa)
  •  * Form I-693 (Controversial. Read the note below)
  • Form G-325A Biographic Information Sheet G 325A
  • Form I-864 Affidavit of Support with supporting documents: I-864

            – Most recent pay stubs (I sent in my husbands paystubs for the last 6 months, other guides will say last 3 months. Either will do, I’m just being extra sure.)

            – W2’s from 2008, 2009 and 2010 (Basically, last 3 years. I think they only request for the  most recent ones, but it doesn’t hurt to be extra sure)

            – 1040 IRS forms filed year 2008, 2009 and 2010 (Like I said, extra sureness)

            – Employment Letter

            – Bank statement (I didn’t include this, but they say that this is optional. I will update this if I get a RFE for this.)

  • Form 1-797 Notice of Action (K1 visa Approval Notice)
  • Copy of form I-94 (This is what the immigration officer stapled on your passport when you entered the US. It’s just a small piece of paper.)
  • Copy of marriage certificate
  • Sponsor’s biographical page of passport **
  • Sponsor’s copy of birth certificate **
  • Sponsor’s copy of citizenship papers **

* There is a debate whether one has to see a civil surgeon to fill this form up. Some say it’s not necessary, but some people said that they got an RFE requesting for this form. What I did was I went ahead and did it, just to avoid an RFE. It cost me $30. But, it’s still up to you.

** I read in the forums that someone got an RFE for not sending in documents proving his/her sponsor is a citizen. Good thing I submitted this. I think it’s best to send it in just to be sure.

Documents for EAD (Employment Authorization Document):

  • Form I-765 Application for Employment Authorization I-765
  • Copy of passport biographical page
  • K1 visa page with entry stamp
  • Copy of form 1-94 (front and back)
  • Copy of marriage certificate
  • 2 passport photos with name and alien number printed lightly on back

Documents for AP (Advance Parole):

  • Form I-131 Application for Travel Document (Advance Parole) I-131
  • Copy of passport biographical page
  • K1 visa page with entry stamp
  • Copy of form 1-94 (front and back)
  • Copy of marriage certificate
  • 2 passport photos with name and alien number printed lightly on back

TAKE NOTE: The EAD and AP are optional to file with AOS. It doesn’t cost anything if you file it with AOS. It will still be $1,070.00 for everything. EAD’s and AP’s usually get approved faster than AOS, on average about a month earlier. They file this along with AOS so that you can already get work while still waiting for your greencard. (Basically, to save time.) However, once you get your greencard, both the EAD and AP become invalid. 

I applied for all 3 already, since they cost the same, and I won’t lose anything if I do.

After having all of your documents ready, you can mail them to these addresses:

USCIS Chicago Lockbox

For U.S. Postal Service (USPS) deliveries:

USCIS
PO Box 805887
Chicago, IL 60680-4120

For Express mail and courier deliveries:

USCIS
Attn: FBAS
131 South Dearborn – 3rd Floor
Chicago, IL 60603-5517

Wow! I know it may seem a lot in writing, but once you start on it, it’s fairly easy. Just double check your documents before sending it in. Anyway, you already got through the K1 visa trials, so I’m sure this will be chicken. The average waiting time, as far as I know (and based from VisaJourney), is 3 months, but let’s all cross our fingers for it to be faster, so that we can all make our dreams come true. 

Hope this helps everyone! Don’t hesitate to ask me questions below.🙂

Much love,

Imigranteng Filipina

22 thoughts on “MY AOS INPUT – A TINY BIT OF HELP

  1. Reaniza says:

    hi sis..thank you for sharing this…ok lng ba sis if photocopy or scanned copy lang ng BC ni hubby ang ipa photo copy ko? at itong I-94 ok lang ba if scan copy sis? Last question sis, ito bang Sponsor’s copy of citizenship papers need pa ba to if ur hubby is born US citizen…(tama ba ako sa term ko..hehehe) Thank you in advance sis…God bless you.

  2. Imigranteng Filipina says:

    Hi Reaniza,How are you? 1. Yeah, photocopied lang din ang sinend ko na BC ni hubby.2. I-94 photocopied lang din.🙂 Don’t forget front and back ang pa photocopy mo.3. Hehe. Nilagyan ko lang ng citizenship papers yung saken kasi yung hubby ko ay Pilipino talaga, tapos naturalized citizen nalang kaya sinama ko yun. Yung BC kasi niya, sa Pilipinas siya pinagangak, kaya sinama ko yung citizenship papers. :)Hope this helps, Reaniza! :) 

  3. elsa says:

    Hi..i am so confused kc sb sa kopya ng vaccination ko eh “VACCINE HISTORY INCOMPLETE” thats why when we called a civil surgeon she wants me to get a tb shot..so i have to pay 147$ isn’t it a ripp off? i wish i could find a civl surgeon for only 30.00! pd ba hindi na lang i=submit yung for I-1693?

  4. Reaniza says:

    Hi Elsa…same with mine…nkalagay rin ay “VACCINE HISTORY INCOMPLETE” but below that nka check din yung box ng “applicant may be eligible for blanket waiver and so on and so forth” it means that i transcribe lng tlaga yan…like what i did today…i just pay 20 dollars…try to check sis if nka check din yung sa baba…God bless you.

  5. elsa says:

    Hello Reaniza..yes yung Results ko e naka check yung VACCINE HISTORY INCOMPLETE tapos yung APPLICANT MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR BLANKET…eh may check din. yung 3 boxes wala ng check ganun din ba sayo?

  6. Imigranteng Filipina says:

    Hindi rin ako sure dito… May mga nagsabi na hindi na daw kelangan pumunta ng CS. Yung iba naman, nagkaka-RFE dahil hindi pumunta sa CS. Nagpa-transcribe na rin lang ako para sure.. pero ang iba, naa-approve naman kahit hindi na. Magulo noh? Haha🙂

  7. Imigranteng Filipina says:

    Hi Rin,You can use any name you want for your GC. I used my married name, but you have the choice whichever you want to use.🙂

  8. Jeyza says:

    Hi I’m jeyza ,tanong ko Lang ,I am due for an interview this coming Jan 22 2012 ,,,,,that’s for my AOS ….. How was that. ..?I. Mean can you you please shRe your experience about the actual day of interview,,,,,what are the documents to bring along with,,,,,how will I be able to know if I pass the interview? Does it mean that after the interview i!ll get my green card? Thank you so myth in advance. …… Love reading your page here………..Hope to hear from you

  9. Imigranteng Filipina says:

    Hi Jeyza,I wish I can help you, but my interview is actually on February 3rd. You’ll have your interview earlier than me. Hehe :)But, on my interview letter, it says to bring proof of legitimate marriage, so insurance with both your name under it, a marriage certificate, pictures of your wedding, and so forth.. Are you already in the US?I usually go to this forum (http://visajourney.com/forums) to ask my questions. A lot of people can answer your question more in detail there.Sorry I can’t be of much help, we’re on the same boat right now. :)Sincerely,Imimgranteng FilipinaPS – Thank you so much for reading my blog!

  10. rin says:

    Hello ask ko lng,, yung G325A, ako lng ang mgffill up nun dba? nde na c husband? Also anu difference nung A ____ dun may bandang upper right portion ng form dun sa alien registration number sa baba? thank you!!!!

  11. Mel says:

    hi, glad that i found this blog, other blogs are about a year ago or more than, anyway i will have my green card interview on april 6, i am having problem with my I-693, i cant find civil surgeon who will transcribe my vaccination report, they want me to take series of physical exams again,,, for sure,, they want me to pay higher kasi…

  12. Imigranteng Filipina says:

    Hi Mel,Naku, I don’t know about that. Usually, I rely on the forums (http://www.visajourney.com) cause they have a list of trustworthy civil surgeons, so maybe you could find one there. There should be someone who would know about just additional transcription. Good luck!

  13. Mel says:

    Thanks! nakahanap na ako ng civil surgeon, we called her yesterday and she said it would cost 20$ lng but we arrived today to do this “thing” she charged us 185$ and explained why.. I got 2 vaccinations also, ulit, she said kasi na US has different laws blah blah..Goodluck to all, I’l keep on following this blog! Thanks

  14. M says:

    Hello Reaniza,

    Thank you for sharing your AOS experience. I’m getting married next month (22nd Jul) and my K1 Visa will expire on 2nd Aug.

    Hope you can help me with the following q’s:
    – Do you think i have enough time to process my AOS application?
    – What will be your status after your Visa expires and filling AOS? Will USCIS give you some document to prove that you can legally stay in the US while AOS is in process?

    Hope you can find time to help me with the above q’s…sa totooo lang naiistress na ako🙂

    Congrats on your new job🙂

    Cheers,

    M

    • Hi! This is Jen aka ImigratengFilipina and I own this site.🙂

      Sorry for the late reply as I was so busy from work, and I couldn’t find the time to update my blog, other than now.

      1. Yes, you’ll be able to apply for AOS with no problem since you got married within 90 days of your arrival in the US. That’s what they’re looking for.
      2. Your visa is valid for 6 months after you arrive in the US (If I’m not mistaken)… So, technically, you’re a “legal” alien, but you would need to adjust your status (AOS) in order to work etc. Or else, you’ll be stuck and you won’t be able to do anything.

      How is the wedding planning going? I’m so sorry for the late reply again. I hope I helped you out.🙂

      Sincerely,

      ImigratengFilipina

  15. Pam says:

    Hi ask ko lang Kasi ung ds3025 ko is incomplete but elibible for blanket waiver, I’m planning to go to a civil surgeon is he gonna still require me to complete all the vaccines since some is not medically appropriate? Thanks😉

  16. ruby says:

    hello! my ead card is going to expire on april 14, kelan ako dapat magrenew? ano ang dapat gawin for renewal at may fee ba na dapat bayaran? i got a daughter whose 16 years old, mag-expire din ang ead nya the same time as mine, ano ang dapat gawin for her ead renewal and may bayad din ba? how much? also, our green card is still in process.

  17. hello !just want to ask if what is the difference bet.alien registration number and alien receipt number,Im just confused bec.,of the alien receipt number required to write at the back of the 2 pasport photos,just want 2 make sure I will be writing the correct one b4 the USCIS review my application for adjust status,Thanks…

Leave a Reply

