I miss my family…

Work has been super busy. Maybe, in a way, I willed it to be that way, and probably, even though it tires the hell out of me, I prefer it that way. It may be about the money, and it is rewarding in that way, although there’s a bigger, more important, and probably more sustaining reason than that. The reason is that it keeps my mind off how far away from my family I am. 

It’s the holidays again. I liked Christmas maybe until I was around 8 or 9 years old, when I was getting really nice presents. After that, I hated it. Well, maybe hate is a strong word. I disliked Christmas… that sounds better. I disliked the christmas songs, the spirit of christmas, the bright lights at night, because it gives me a bittersweet feeling, more on the nostalgic side, which reminds me of depressing Radiohead music. Fast forward at 24 years old, halfway around the world with no immediate family around me, and it sucks. That’s the only word I can think of… it sucks. And I just want the days to go by faster so that it can be over with.

Leave a Reply

