Life Updates / Immigration Questions

How is everyone?

Things have been hectic for me. Over the past 2 years, there have been so many milestones that I have met in my life that I could only have dreamed of. The American Dream is still alive… at least for me. From getting our own house, to buying a car (albeit a second hand 80’s car that I have always wanted ever since I was a kid), working 2 jobs (1 in a respectable and known company), being able to pay the bills and support myself – working hard has reaped so many benefits for me personally, that I can’t think of anything else except to work extra harder.

To all my friends that had the same journey as I did, how are you doing now? I hope you are having a satisfying life, even though at times it seems that it could be better. Please post below and tell me something about your life here in the US, life updates.🙂

I can’t complain. If I did complain, the only complaint that I have would be being so far away from my family. But even in my point of view, I think it’s a very valid complaint, but something that I try not to dwell upon too much as I try to visit every year.

So, right now, it’s the 25th of June. Exactly a month and 1 day from now, on July 26, I will be having my church wedding in Tagaytay, Philippines, which I am very excited/stressed about. (cue the wedding music!) Working all the double shifts and overtimes just to pay for the wedding.. but it will be all worth it. I will be posting pictures here as it happens next month. My husband and I are very excited. We are only worried about our 2 dogs and who they are going to stay with for 3 weeks. We are still trying to find an answer for that.

I know a lot of people have left comments on my immigration posts asking for help with their own process. I hope the process went as smoothly for you as it did for us. To some people who have posted questions asking for help, there are some things that I have forgotten already. Like I have said before, I am not a professional, I am not a lawyer of the immigration process nor am I paid for anything that I post. I only post guides to help other people who are going through the same process as I am. So, if I haven’t replied to any of your questions, it may mean that I honestly don’t know the answer or have forgotten. If I did give advice that may have mislead you, I’m sorry. Like I said, I am not an expert. My guides are as thorough as I can write them, and hopefully it can help you.

Much love,

Imigranteng Filipina

15 thoughts on “Life Updates / Immigration Questions

  1. ruby says:

    I am so happy to hear from you after a long silence! You are right, life is kinda hard here in U.S., especially when you miss being with your family in the Philippines. The only family I left there is my father. I hope to get him here when I become a U.S. citizen, but that would be a long journey for me yet as I am here for over a year only. I always dream of a church wedding, too, so I know how anxious you are to your church wedding. This blog really helped me a lot from when I received the NOA until I get here. My worry now is to have mine and my daughter’s passport renewal. New York City is far from where we are, we are in Buffalo, so we plan to take a plane trip there, it would cost a lot of money,🙂 I already read online and understood some on the process of renewing our passport. There are still some things that confuses me, like is it necessary to produce that affidavit to allow my daughter to travel alone even if we have no plan of letting her go anywhere outside of U.S. for the years to come? I really don’t understand that well. I hope anyone here can explain that to me. Thanks in advance.

    • Thank you! I know, it’s been a while since I’ve posted, I just haven’t gotten the time to do so. Procrastinating? Maybe.

      With regards to passport renewal, is this via the Philippine embassy? I’ve read that they have services to renew passports via mail if you live far away. It saves you time and money with that option.

      ImigrantengFilipina

      • ruby says:

        yes, it is via the Philippine Embassy. From what I read online it’s saying that they don’t do it by mail but walk-in, so we really need to go there and spend money. 🙂 I don’t have any option but to go there. I’m also excited because we are more than a year here and we wanted to go to New York City, so now is the chance, though of course, we need to save some money now as we are planning to go there on September.

  2. Tintin says:

    Hello good evening?
    I just wanna asked kung ano ang sunod na step after we recieve our case number?thanks and godbless

  3. Hello Jenina! (did I get your name right???)
    I am so happy to find another Filipina blogger on WordPress. I am also an immigrant, but I went through a different route. I haven’t finished backreading your posts – and comparing what we went through.
    How did the Philippine wedding go? Hope to hear from you soon, for the mean time, I will be lurking here in your blog (I hope it doesn’t come across as creepy, haha!)

  4. Congratulations on the wedding! I know the feeling. Our honeymoon is actually half the cost of our wedding so overtime and other venues are being tried.🙂

  5. littlelulu says:

    Hi jenina. Congratulations on your wedding!!! I often visit your blog for immigration infos and well for us life inspiration hehe (cos i am a k1 as well).. you were somehow 1 of the reasons i made a blog here. Im so bored cos i can’t work yet and we’re about to submit the AOS package. Idk how many months to wait before i get my permits and paperworks..

    Sorry to bother you, I just have 1 question, did you try working eventhough you dont have EAD yet?.. thank you.. you’ve been a great help to me!

    • Hi littlelulu,

      No, I did not work. I wanted to so badly because I was so bored and homesick but I had to stick through it. It’ll be over soon though. 😊

      Thank you for the well wishes!

      Btw, I love LittleLulu. My favorite cartoon 👍

      Sincerely,
      ImigrantengFilipina

      • littlelulu says:

        I guess i have to find things to do to keep me busy then.. hehe. Thank you for the reply! I can’t wait to see your church wedding pics. I hope it was amazing! (:

  6. Luckycharm says:

    Your blog has been very helpful. I’m glad I chanced upon your blog. I’m on my first step. We just submitted the petition and received the NOA1 and now we’re waiting for the second NOA. I’m anxious, nervous, mixed emotions, I guess. I’m excited to be there in the USA to be with the love of my life more than anything else. I wish you all the best in your life there and hopefully would have the same fortune like yours. ( I’m talking about the approval of the visa) I hope it’ll go smoothly for us. May God bless you and your loved ones.:-)

Leave a Reply

